Disable auto-sync of new shares

client
help

#1

Hello all!

Is there a configuration-switch in the client that will prevent it from automatically downloading new shares that have been assigned to a user. The preferred behavior would be that it notifies or asks if the sync for a newly received share should be turned on.

I am aware of the possibility to have the client asking for folder that exceed a certain size. As this is global, it is not the desired function.

Thank you!

Best, Tom


#2

There is no such switch available in the sync-client. You might workaround this by not syncing the root folder of your ownCloud instances but let the user choose which folder should be pulled by the sync client (keyword: selective sync).


#3

Hiya @tom.langridge!

Right now we're working to introduce this exact same behavior for the external storage options in the next release: https://github.com/owncloud/client/pull/5340

If you would like to see this happening in the future, you can always open an issue with the feature request, or if you have some coding experience on your own, contribute with a pull request in: https://github.com/owncloud/client

Best! :wink: