Help with OC setup

Hi everyone,

I have been trying to get OC setup the right way for about 2 years, don't laugh. OK, go ahead and laugh! I have been using it but when I get it setup, it doesn't do what I want it to do. I am using Ubuntu 16.04 now but this was also an issue in earlier versions. I am a noob to Linux and server stuff in general. I am learning as I go, I don't like asking for help because I am stubborn.
I am trying to accomplish 2 things. I really want to add SSL but have no idea how to do so. I have heard many terms used but don't fully understand them, so I'm looking for laymans terms in a way. I just want to do a self-sign version and step by step to implement it on the server.
Second, when I mount a local storage drive it doesn't seem to work right. I basically add it and I can see and use what I put on there locally but everything I try to save through the "webspace" goes to the original data folder and eats up my boot drive ssd space. I feel that I also have an issue with permissions within ubuntu. I know it has something to do with the path that is applied. I named the mount storage and when I mount it it continues to go to /media/nameofuser/storage. I had an issue with the drive unmounting after reboot and fixed that at some point but don't remember what I did. I had a brain injury about 10 years ago and short term is terrible unless it's in front of me. This is why I have a hard time.
I have been trying to get this to work this way, I know it can be done. It's just that I'm not doing something right. I have followed some of the youtube videos and they have helped me in different ways but I can't get it right.