Prevent root access local storage

Hello, I'm running Owncloud 10.0.7. I'm considering enabeling local storage, it would make my life a lot easier. BUT.. I'm worried that if I enable this feature and get hacked for some reason?

I've got owncloud installed in /var/www/owncloud/

If I wanna share /mounta/blablabla/ and get hacked. What is to stop the person that would get access to my admin account from giving themselves access to / and then get 100% access to my server..

Keep in mind I am rather new to linux and learning as I go.. I'm using https mind you and just using the server for personal use so threatlevel is rarther small for this happeing. Still, I am just curious if there is a way to prevent what is allowed to be sharerd by local share in my version of Owncloud.

Thanks!

Hi,

If the hacker doesn't know your password - how should he gain root privileges?

Also - what is your goal? Why do you want to share a mount/folder?

That is a really valid point. He won't be able to do anything to my system without the root password but it still scares me exposing my server like that. I would prefer it if I set a second level of root share in the configfile instead of being able to implement such a deep access to the server through web interface. Does that make sense?

The goal is to be able to access some of my locally stored files where ever I am in a smooth graphically appealing way that I find oc to be..

I think your concerns are the reason why there is an config.php option "files_external_allow_create_new_local" listed here:

https://doc.owncloud.org/server/latest/admin_manual/configuration/files/external_storage/local.html

which you need to setup before you can mount local storages.

1 Like

Yea. I had to add that code to my configfile to allow the local storage in the first place.. However it addresses none of the security issues.. Or am I wrong. Is there a way to add a share to an account purly via code and then disable the gui storage share method?