What happens when deactivating users

help

#1

Hey.

Can someone tell me what happens if I deactivate a user?
I know this user can’t log in, but what about sharing with other users, can another user still use them?
What about the e-mail notification for this user, does he still receive it?

Thank you


#2

Yes. Only the login is stopped, so this user can’t do actions anymore by himself.
Disable is meant as a temporary mechanism with the goal to not interrupt operations but disable actions by such user. As shares with such a user are not hurting anybody and we would have difficulties to decide what to do when a share is done with a group which includes the user, this seemed the best way. Administration has to decide how to deal with such users and iniate oc:transfer or other means followed by a delete (which can’t be undone).


#3

Great, so I can use that right now.

Many thanks for the quick answer