2.7 (.1, .2, .4 and now .5) updates seem to ignore the no update status

We have a few customers with an older desktop client version 2.5.4 for compatibility purpose.
On their Mac computer, the prevention of the desktop client update has been set by copying the file owncloud.app/Contents/Resources/deny_autoupdate_com.owncloud.desktopclient.plist to /Library/Preferences/com.owncloud.desktopclient.plist.

Expected behaviour

The ownCloud desktop client should not prompt for update.

Actual behaviour

Since 2.7 users are prompted to update the desktop client…

Steps to reproduce

  1. Quit the ownCloud desktop client
  2. Launch the ownCloud desktop client
  3. Prompt for the new 2.7.5 version comes up
    Same if we reboot the Mac computer

Client configuration

Client version: 2.5.4

Operating system: Mac OS Big Sur

OS language: English

Client package (From ownCloud or distro) (Linux only): From ownCloud

Installation path of client: /Applications/ownCloud.app

You mean?

  1. Quit the 2.5.4 ownCloud desktop client
  2. Launch the 2.5.4 ownCloud desktop client
  3. Prompt for the new 2.7.5 version comes up
    Same if we reboot the Mac computer

Strange, because nothing changed with the already installed 2.5.4 ownCloud desktop client :thinking:

We just had this again, this morning, with a legacy computer running the 2.4.3 client with Mac OS Catalina.

Aftre booting it got the prompt for update to Version 2.7.6.

File /Library/Preferences/com.owncloud.desktopclient.plist does contain the skipUpdateCheck true flag…

How come 2.7 bypasses this flag?? It was never prompted to update to 2.5 or 2.6 on this computer before.