.... a backup was restored on the server

help

#1

I've shared 3 SAMBA shares over external storage. With a total of 65G and about 60k files. A couple of times every day I get the error message that a backup has been restored on the server and if I want to do a "Normal Synchronisation" or "Keep Local Files as Conflict".
I choose "Normal" the client starts to sync.

I have synced the time of all servers and clients involved with ntp.

Steps to reproduce
1. Just let the client do it's job and wait for the error

Expected behaviour
It should just sync the files that really have changed.

Actual behaviour
It detects that the timestamp on the local file is newer. But it hasn't been touched.

Client configuration
Client version: 2.2.4
Client operating system: OSX 10.11.6

Server configuration
Operating system: Ubtuntu 14.04
Web server: Apache2 2.4.7
Database: 5.5.52-MariaDB-1ubuntu0.14.04.1
PHP version: 5.5.9-1ubuntu4.20
ownCloud version (see ownCloud admin page): 9.1.1
Updated from an older ownCloud or fresh install: 8.x - 9.0 -
Special configurations (external storage, external authentication, reverse proxy, server-side-encryption):
external storage (CIFS)

ownCloud log (data/owncloud.log)

Client log states ...
...
0x7fbb1940e250 OCC::SyncEngine::treewalkFile: filexxx has a timestamp earlier than the local file
0x7fbb1940e250 OCC::SyncEngine::slotDiscoveryJobFinished: All the changes are bringing files in the
0x7fbb1940e250 OCC::SyncEngine::slotDiscoveryJobFinished: All the changes are bringing files in the past, asking the user


#2

Just wondering, what is the local time difference between the server, the storage and all the clients?


#3

they are all synced with ntp. so - there shouldn't be any difference - well I cannot spot it when I compare them.

and it detects about 7G of timestamp missmatch data every time. that takes quit some time to sync ... thinking of our RoadWarriors. :-/


#4

A few user reported the same in the wrongly hijacked https://github.com/owncloud/client/issues/5109 issue.


#5

yeah - seems to be the same ... the only hint I can take out is to downgrade my client before 2.2.2 .... :unamused: and give it a try ?


#6

downgraded to .... Version 2.2.0 (build 3358).

Let's see ...


#7

-> https://github.com/owncloud/client/issues/5260


#8

after downgrading to Version 2.2.0 (build 3358) I can confirm that the "backup was restored" issue has not popped up again.
also syncing runs much smoother with which I mean that I haven't seen the client searching for changes for a long time. (almost every "sync interval" which is 30sec. by default.)

for now - I think - I have to stay at 2.2.0. Till someone figures out what have been introduced in the newer versions that causes this behaviour.


#9

hi there,
it's said that downgrading to 2.2.0 would solve the problem but doen't for me.
Downgraded the client to 2.2.0 (6076) on Windows, still get the message.
using OC 9.1.4 on ubuntu

How to proceed?


#10

The upcoming version 2.3.0 of the client is needed according to:


#11

Hi, we have around 15 users on version 2.3.1 for Windows and on a daily basis the same couple of users report receiving the backup detected message. We have tried rolling back to 2.2.0 which didn't resolve the issue.I just wondered if anyone had any ideas for me to try please? Let me know what other info you need. Log file can be seen here: https://it247ltd-my.sharepoint.com/personal/support_it247nw_com/_layouts/15/guestaccess.aspx?docid=19388197db5d5433d89aba68110b2432f&authkey=ATS2DWeTHu4L9MlNFQhHSTs


#12

According to the bugreport above you need client version 2.3.0+ and oC 9.1+ to solve this issue. If you have those versions then please create a new bugreport at https://github.com/owncloud/client/issues


#13

Ref:


#14