when I uninstall the desktop client using the uninstall function of the windows control panel, it will not be completely deleted. When try to install it again the account etc. is rememberd an I think there are also left some files that cause my errors which I would like to overcome by reinstalling…
dmitry
February 27, 2018, 7:47am
2
Hi,
you could simply remove your account, then delete all files in your local sync directory including the hidden ones. That should be enough.
Hey, @jakeelee thanks for your interest in the client development! This is actually a known behavior:
opened 04:38PM - 29 Nov 16 UTC
closed 07:17AM - 28 Nov 18 UTC
Enhancement
Discussion
packaging
After uninstalling/purging the client in any OS, `owncloud.cfg` file is preserve… d with all the accounts logged and folder sync connections created. Also, the account credentials, stored in the keychain/Password manager are kept there.
The most common scenario I can think of is the one where the sync client is uninstalled and reinstalled in the future: all the previous data is reused.
### Proposed behavior
The user is prompted with the option to log out and remove the account(s) details and the password from the system.
### Actual behavior
`owncloud.cfg` is preserved with the account information, if the user hasn't previously logged out in the account view, the sessions are preserved.
I agree that the local folders synced should stay there (or even it could ask the user what to do with them) but I believe it's unusual to keep user data after uninstalling.
Upvote the issue to show your support for this behavior.
the account etc. is remembered
You can completely remove the account by deleting the client’s config file (as described on When uninstalling the client, the config file is preserved · Issue #5342 · owncloud/client · GitHub ). This will also auto-select a clean, new local sync folder when setting up the account again.