Conflicts in Files

Dear Team,

I am using Desktop Client with my domainname hosted owncloud. On sync, owncloud makes conflicted files in the local folder. as going through the url (https://doc.owncloud.org/desktop/2.5/conflicts.html), I am not getting where to change value of OWNCLOUD_UPLOAD_CONFLICT_FILES=1. Please suggest.

You have to set this as environment variable, depending on your desktop OS.

Plan is, to make this accessible in the user interface in one of the next versions.

What to put in Environment Variable? Path as I am using domainname? Value?
I am using Windows 10.

Please suggest.

Great…

But any solution to overcome conflicts as of now?

I’m not an expert for Windows, but a quick search brings up some useful hints:
https://duckduckgo.com/?q=windows+10+environment+variable&ia=qa

I think, nobody here can tell, why your files are conflicting. It’s up to you to find the cause.
Some hints:

• time/clock differences
  • syncing to external storage, might give extra trouble
  • …

Start with checking an single example, compare the files content, timestamp, attributes etc.

Hello,

Thank you for the information. I am able to find the cause. Its due to time/clock differences.
How to resolve this cause?

Well, you should bring the clock of every involved pc in sync with the clock of the server where owncloud is running. Current Windows clients are normally ok, eg synced with a timeserver. Now you’ll have to setup for your server as well. Have a look at

man ntpd

Thank you for the concern.
To my understanding, the conflicts are arrising due to follows:
I run the server and data gets synced at say 8AM in the morning. I went out and later in the evening again when I run the server, the file time i.e. 8 AM changes to 5PM and hence I will be getting the conflicted files of all the data as the same data already resides on the server.