Data loss after server restore

help

#1

After a hard disk failure I had to restore a one day old backup. After activating the desktop sync client, new files on the local computer were deleted.

Steps to reproduce
1. Sync your data from local computer
2. Create a full backup of owncloud server according to manual
3. Create some new files on local computer and sync them
4. Restore server from the backup of step 2
5. New files of step 3 will be deleted when running sync client after restore

Expected behaviour
New files of step 3 should be synced to server in step 5

Actual behaviour
New files are deleted

Client configuration
Client version: 2.3.1 (build 6824)
Client operating system: Windows 10

Server configuration
Operating system: Gentoo
Web server: Apache
Database: Mysql
PHP version: 5.6
ownCloud version (see ownCloud admin page): 10.0.0
Updated from an older ownCloud or fresh install: Updated from 9.1.4
Special configurations (external storage, external authentication, reverse proxy, server-side-encryption): none


#2

Hi,

seems the following occ command (from [1]) could be explained in a few more details:

Run maintenance:data-fingerprint to tell desktop and mobile clients that a server backup has been restored. Users will be prompted to resolve any conflicts between newer and older file versions.

[1] https://doc.owncloud.org/server/latest/admin_manual/configuration_server/occ_command.html#maintenance-commands


#3

-> https://github.com/owncloud/documentation/issues/2360