GSOC 2017 Participation for Gallery view in files app project idea

Hi, i am Gaston Che, a Senior year student of the faculty of engineering and technology of the university of Buea,Cameroon. I am a GSOC 2017 Candidate. I am a full stack web developer web developer with a lot of experience in web development. I have worked extensively with javacript and php and i beleive my skill set and JavaScript proficiency level makes me ready for the 'Gallery view in files app' project.
I would like to receive some directions or steps on how to get started contributing to the community.
thanks ...

1 Like

Have a look at the junior jobs: https://github.com/owncloud/core/issues?q=is%3Aopen+is%3Aissue+label%3A%22junior+job%22

The task itself will need you to understand the file list code from the files app:https://github.com/owncloud/core/blob/master/apps/files/js/filelist.js and also parts of the gallery app https://github.com/owncloud/gallery that need to be adjusted to be a "thumbnails" view replacement for the file list.

1 Like

Hi there,

This is Nam Giang, a grad student from UBC, Canada. I'm currently a user of OwnCloud and find it's interesting to dive into its code.

Regarding the project "Gallery view in files app" project, what do you mean by "kill"? As I understand, we are going to just add view extension to the "file" app right?

Thank so much.

Yes, I think the "kill" was mostly an idea to remove the gallery app completely and have the thumbnail view in core. But I think it's better to keep the gallery app and make it register a new file list view type which displays thumbnails. The part that would disappear is the navigation icon for the gallery app as it will be integrated in the files list directly.

Note that currently there is no way to register new file list view types, so it's also part of the work to make the files app in core extensible in that regard.