Help With Install

Hi,

I am new to Owncloud, and have just installed it in ClearOS. I also mounted a large drive to use as the repository for the data, but have been unable to use it. I tried following the instructions given by ClearOS but it simply will not work. The error I get is no .ocdata file, but it is in the data folder in the new mount.

I copied everything in the original folder to the new location, edited the config.php file and it will not work.
i also noticed that there is no apache in ClearOS, I assume it would need to be installed as well ?
Can someone please guide me through fixing up the installation I have on ClearOS, thanks.

Manolo

Unfortunately it’s not that easy. Please have a look at the relevant doc page.

How could you install ownCloud then?

ClearOS includes the Apache web server – the same software that powers many of the world’s largest web sites.

1 Like

Hi,
Thanks for the link, I’ll have a look.

As to the install, well on ClearOS Owncloud is an app you simply choose for install and I would have assumed all dependencies are installed when the app is installed.

Apparenyly it is not the case, I am also asking for help in the ClearOS community, as the install and setup guides say nothing about having to install other services prior to Owncloud. I guess the App in the ClearOS Marketplace is different to the normal Owncloud install version for Linux.

Thanks, and I’ll be asking for more help if needed !!!

Manolo

1 Like

Hi manolo2001,

if you decided to install ownCloud as an ClearOS app I’d recommend to ask this question in a ClearOS forum (what you obviously already did), since they are bundling the apps. I am afraid we cannot help you with this.

Then, the ClearOS app i found at https://www.clearos.com/clearfoundation/software/clearos-7-community/marketplace/server/ownCloud_for_Business looks highly outdated. You should not use this, if this is the only option.