How to add my QNAP TS-251+ media folder to Owncloud?

Hi guys, I am new to NAS, gone one recently (QNAP TS-251+) and installed owncloud app.

I have a lot of pictures on my NAS which is stored in an encrypted volume in my storage pool. I have created an owncloud account and purchased the iphone woncloud app as well.

The question is, how can I mount or add my media library folder to owncloud so that I can access the photos on my NAS across all my devices.

1 Like

I finally got it how to add my folder, but it shows the below error. No idea what does this mean and how to fix this.

Note: ā€œsmbclientā€ is not installed. Mounting of SMB / CIFS and SMB / CIFS using OC login is not possible. Please ask your system administrator to install it.

Hey,

maybe the following existing documentation is helping you?

https://doc.owncloud.org/server/admin_manual/installation/manual_installation.html#required-for-specific-apps

1 Like

Yes, I have gone through it, but still struggling.

I have successfully installed owncloud X. Iā€™ve created an owncloud account and itā€™s up and running. Now here is the thing which I am trying to crack;

I have a directory in my NAS which has all my photos and video files. I need to connect the folder to my owncloud X so that I can access all of it using my iphone owncloud app.

I have tried all possible ways, but couldnā€™t make it.

Hey,

maybe you can explain the issues youā€™re struggling in more details? I think with this few information it is nearly impossible to help as no one can guess which steps you already did, what issues youā€™re facing an similar. :frowning_face:

1 Like

I understandā€¦here are the detailsā€¦

I have a QNAP NAS TS251+ā€¦ now running on firmware 4.4.1

The NAS has been set up as RAID 1, and has a directory ā€˜Documentsā€™ which has all my media and documentsā€¦ I have purchased owncloud on my iphone, and I need all the documents on my NAS on my mobileā€¦especially media filesā€¦photos and videosā€¦