How to create and share folder in a custom app?

Hi there,

I am quite new to owncloud. And I am struggling a little bit with the develoment of cutom apps.
My Owncloud-version is 10.8.
What I want to do from inside my app is creating a folder owned by a specific user. After that I want to share this Folder with a specific Group.

I have searched for some hours now, but I can’t find much specifics on hot to accomplish this. It seems an easy task that an app should be able to do with oncloud mechanics.

Everything I find so far is using webdav, provisining and share apis but very few specifics on how to do this. I cannot find any example code on how to access webdav api from inside my app.

Is it really the way to go to setup curl and fire curl requests from inside my app to access webdav api? Furthermore how to creat folders with it?
Any links, any step by step guides or any other tips will be appreceated!

Best Regards,
FirestromHell

No one forces you to use curl to submit your requests. You can use whatever you want or what is available in your app environment. (jQuery, fetch…)

1 Like

Thanks for your answer.

I get where you coming from, but the question for me is more like, is there no owncloud internal way to create (and share) a folder? Do I have to do this via webdav api?

I don’t know of an official statement or advice on that topic. If we are talking about an ownCloud app, I think it’s ok to create a folder directly with PHP. For the sharing you have to use the API anyway.

2 Likes

That’s what the ownCloud desktop client does. A little trick can be to look at the ownCloud client’s traffic using wireguard (or similar) while doing in the client what you want to achieve in your app.