LDAP, Host, DNS, clarifications

Hello All,

Im new to use owncloud and not much familiar with some technicality, like LDAP, DNS, Host, probably silly questions, but i would appreciate if you will help me to better understand.

Introduction:
I running owncloud on Virtualbox using the UCS appliance Univention, debian. Works fine in the local network using the IP address.
Tried to secure it to use HTTPS.

Questions:

1. Instead of using the IP address, how can i access to the owncloud? I tried host name, LDAP, port, but does not work. How is it used the LDAP port?
  2. When i tried to use HTTPS by redirect HTTP changing config file in debian, in the browser still show me unsecure connection. Is because the certificate im using is signed only by me? how can i check if the connection is now using HTTPS correctly? how can remove the warning on the browser?
  3. when i access from the internet using my ISP IP address it works fine, but how can i use the server name instead of the IP?
  4. Im not clear with DNS and LDAP. If i want the internet browser to resolve the address over the internet to reach the owncloud IP address, how can this be done? what service do i need to use?

Welcome to ownCloud Central.

Your questions, while relevant to your goal of accessing your ownCloud instance, don’t really pertain to ownCloud itself. They are general network and server administration topics. This is not the right place to expect answers to those inquiries. You may want to try the following resources. The first link should help you understand DNS. The next is a more suitable place for discussing the UCS appliance.

Cloudflare Learning
What is DNS? | How DNS works

1 Like