Localhost/owncloud giving 404

Steps to reproduce

1. after a fresh install I cannot access the login/setup page through localhost/owncloud

Expected behaviour

owncloud sign in page should display

Actual behaviour

the page goes directly to 404

Server configuration

Operating system: ubuntu 16.04

Web server: apache2

Database: sql

PHP version: 7.0

ownCloud version: 10.0.7-1.1

Updated from an older ownCloud or fresh install: fresh install

Where did you install ownCloud from: owncloud linux package

List of activated apps: not there yet

Are you using encryption: no

Client configuration

Browser: firefox

I am still a newbie with linux in general, so when I screw something up I just reinstall Ubuntu and then OC. My setup has been doing great but I saw there was an upgrade to OC 10 and I wanted to install it. I did a clean wipe of Ubuntu like I have done many times and installed OC 10. I install the LAMP stack and then the php 7.0 intl, curl and php 7 zip. The 3 php installation files are new to me because OC worked fine for me with the LAMP stack before and this may be what changes things but I'm not sure. When I try to access the OC setup and login page it comes back as a 404. I have never had this happen before. Now, if I move the OC installation to the HTML folder it will work. When I did this I could not get marketplace apps because it said the apps folder is writable. So I figured this had something to do with moving the folder but I'm not sure. If I remember correctly, when you install OC the folder the path was /var/www/owncloud. Did something change with OC? I read somewhere that people are using symbolic links. I have never done one. Any help would be appreciated.

Hi,

for new people there is the ownCloud doc with useful info:

https://doc.owncloud.com/server/10.0/admin_manual/

I have looked there but I didn't see anything related to it. Thank you for the response.

Maybe the Apache configuration is missing?