Mirroring whole cloud on second storage

Hi! I dont know if I post at the right place, I’m new here and find the forum pretty hard To understand.

I’m a newbie in this world and trying To setup my own cloud in order To store personal files.

My cloud works at this moment (running it on a raspberry pi 3 with dietpi os), but I use a USB key as storage.

I’m pretty afraid that the USB stick could fail at any moment and I wouldn’t like to loose my important files. I’d like to know if it is possible to have a mirrored storage.

What I mean is that I’d like to have 2 storages (2 HDD or USB sticks) plugged in my pi and everytime I upload something on the main storage, it copies itself on the second one.

It would be even better if everytime I drop a file in the cloud from somewhere in the world, it copies itself on my main pc, but since its not always running I dont think that could be a thing.

Is such a thing possible? If yes, how could I do that?

Last question is : If I got 2 storages plugged in the pi, can i switch from one To the other while being on the web panel? If yes, it could be a solution for me to upload twice each files even tho it would be less convenient.

Thanks again

I think what you are looking for is Software RAID on Linux. You can create one virtual device, your Linux is writing to, but in the back it is duplicating everything to one or more disks. What you want is a RAID 1.

1 Like

Your option to copy to your computer, which is not always on, would be to setup a shared folder on your computer to accept backups. I would be looking to do an rsync of the data folder via a cron job, if your desktop is on it’ll go through and your backup will be updated at that time.

I successfully set up a mdadm raid 1 for my two usb drives on my pi