[Noob] Files deleted from server when connecting device with older version of synced folder

Hello, community!

I’m new around here, happy to be a part of the community. :slight_smile:

I’m a bit of a noob with ownCloud, so forgive me if this is an easily-answered question. I read a good chunk of the documentation and couldn’t find an answer.

A few years ago, I was using oC to connect my two PCs to an employer’s server. One day, I booted up my laptop after having used my desktop for work for several weeks.

It turned out that when the oC client launched on the laptop and found an older version of the synced folder, instead of downloading the files I had been adding on my desktop over the preceding weeks, it deleted them from the server and reverted the server folder back to the state of the laptop’s folder.

I then stopped using oC, but now I want to start again for some of my private data. My web hosting company, Checkdomain, offers a one-click install for ownCloud, so that’s how I set up the server side. I also installed the client on my desktop already, running Linux Mint 20.

Hesitating to deploy it on my laptop, though, because I’m scared of this sync reversion happening again.

I’m wondering if this behaviour is as intended, or if it was a glitch? Is there a setting I overlooked in the web interface or client?

I have also been using Dropbox for many years, and it always made sure connected devices were in sync with the server, not the other way round.

Hello.

This happened to me too. I would say it was a glitch and not the normal behaviour.

Additionally - your files are not gone, they have just been moved to the trash bin on the server. You can simply restore them and then will get synced to your client.

The problem with this kind of accidents is that they lack the reproduction steps. If we could reproduce this then we could start looking for a cause of the issue and then a fix. I could not reproduce it after it happened to me.