Owncloud 9.1 Ubuntu 16.04 Cronjob not working

Hey guys, I got an OwnCloud 9.1.1 running on an Ubuntu 16.04 dekstop.
But I have some problems with cronjobs.

At the "Personal"-settings tab I activated email notifications for the administrator user, whenever a given activity happens like someone creates a new folder.
But I'm afraid I get no mails when somebody does those things.

At "Administrator > Email-Server" I configured everything correctly (I guess), as the test mail works properly.

If I continue then to look at the cron settings and set it on "Cron" as it is default, I get a notification like (transalted) "Last cron job execution: X hours ago. There's probably an error."
I thought, that's the problem, but when set the thing on "AJAX", everything I refresh the page it says someting like (translated) "Last cron job execution: Just now."

As I'm no Linux expert, I have no idea where to look next for the error.

have you singleuser-mode activated?

can you look at your shell (SSH) and tell us if there's an entry like (by typing: crontab -u www-data -l):

*/15 * * * * php -f /var/www/html/owncloud/cron.php

I have plenty of users in use, so I guess I have not?

The command gives me a "no crontab for www-data".
Don't know if it's important, but may be: I have no "/var/www/html/owncoud/cron.php", for me it's "/var/www/owncloud/cron.php"

go to your config.php and check if you have an entry like this enabled:

'singleuser' => true,

(Edited above answer.)

No, there's no such entry as 'singleuser' in my config.php

Well, thats your issue. Please follow the documentation at the following link as just setting the background job to "cron" won't automatically/magically configure them for you.

https://doc.owncloud.org/server/latest/admin_manual/configuration_server/background_jobs_configuration.html#cron

to create a cronjob:

crontab -u www-data -e

and enter this (check if path is correct first!):

*/15 * * * * php -f /var/www/html/owncloud/cron.php