ownCloud as backup storage server

At the moment I save my backup files to Amazon S3 using the backup application Cloudberry Backup, but I was wondering if I should setup a ownCloud server instead of using AWS S3.
I've been thinking of making my own backup program in .Net.

Am I the only one who's been thinking of using ownCloud as backup storage server?
What functionality does ownCloud provide that could be useful, e.g. is it possible to retrieve a filelist and retrieve a hash key of a file/data block?

Are there already a .Net class out there that could be useful?

Should I use webdav to transfer files?

I have read about the ownCloud Command Line Client, but it seems for synchronizing.

Any guidance would be appreciated.....I'm completely new to ownCloud.

Hi,

ownCloud is not backup solution for the reasons explained in this FAQ:

https://owncloud.org/faq/#backup

-I'm not looking for a "backup solution"
-I did read the FAQ it doesn't answer my question.

Other examples of non-backup-solution:
AWS S3, a HP rack server, a harddisk, ...
But nevertheless they could very well be parts of a backup-solution such as ownCloud could be.

My question is meant to be a little sophisticated.

You want to use ownCloud as a backup storage server and the FAQ above contains the info that you shouldn't use ownCloud as a backup for the reasons mentioned (Adding to this are the well known bugs in oC in the past causing issues and data loss).

Adding to this you need to do a backup of all your data before doing any updates / upgrades of ownCloud so you would need to do a backup of your backup. Doesn't sound as something you want to do?

The words "backup" and "ownCloud" just doesn't match, trust me. :slight_smile: