Owncloud softaculous "auto"-installation troubleshooting

Hi I am new to owncloud, linux and server management, so please bear with me – I will try my best to interpret and respond promptly and effectively to any response/feedback. Also I am not familiar yet with the posting standards/conventions in this forum even after browsing for several hours to troubleshoot my issue, so please let me know if I leave out any critical information that is needed.

I’m using a custom data dir and owncloud name instead of the default “owncloud” and “ownclouddata”. I’ll refer to these as “custom-owncloud-name” and “custom-datadir-name”. I hope that using custom names isn’t the root cause of my issues!!

Essentially, I am installing owncloud with an “auto-installer” (softaculous), after installing some missing php modules I completed the auto-installation dialog but was met with four (4) errors that are visible when navigating to “https://www.mydomain.net/custom-owncloud-name”.

Below I will share the 4 errors in addition to troubleshooting steps I’ve tried so far (if any).

Errors 1 + 2 i believe are related and share a root cause based on checking the forums here, but please let me know if this is not the case!
Error 1:

Your Data directory is invalid
Please check that the data directory contains a file “.ocdata” in its root.

Error 2:

Cannot create "data" directory

This can usually be fixed by <a href="https://doc.owncloud.com/server/10.11/go.php?to=admin-dir_permissions" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer">giving the webserver write access to the root directory</a>.

I have checked my data directory @ /home/admin/custom-datadir-name and I see that the .ocdata file is present along with .htaccess, index.html, and an owncloud.log (totally empty). The permissions set for all of these files is -rw-r--r--

What I understand from this code and prior research on owncloud central is that only the owner of the file has write permission, which will cause the error (Error 1) above.