'Path already shared with this group' after transfer-ownership of folder - 10.0.4


#1

Steps to reproduce

  1. Large group share under dedicated owncloud user. Several contributors to group.
  2. User duplicates entire share into a subfolder of the 'master' share as a mistake (backup mistake)
  3. I use transfer-ownership on this duplicate folder (~3 folders deep of master share) to move it to their personal folder to sort out.
  4. After the operation completes, the master share from step 1 is showing as not shared in web interface. Also all group members lose the share from their clients, it doesn't show up in 'shared with me' for any group members.
  5. I try and re-share the folder from the dedicated file sharing user in the web interface and get 'Path already shared with this group'. (Also happens with a User that this was shared with specifically). However I am able to share it with individuals or groups it wasn't previously shared with.

Expected behaviour

Root share should never have disappeared after transfer-ownership command of specific folder within share

Actual behaviour

Root share vanished and now won't allow me to share again

Server configuration

Operating system: Ubuntu LTS 16.04.03

Web server: Apache 2.4.18-2ubuntu3.5

Database: mysql 5.7.20-0ubuntu0.16.04.1

PHP version:PHP 7.0.22-0ubuntu0.16.04.1

ownCloud version: (see ownCloud admin page)10.0.4

Updated from an older ownCloud or fresh install: Updated from 9 and beyond

Where did you install ownCloud from: repo

Signing status (ownCloud 9.0 and above):

No errors have been found.

The content of config/config.php:

https://pastebin.com/sxHZHN4J

List of activated apps:
Enabled:
- activity: 2.3.6
- comments: 0.3.0
- configreport: 0.1.1
- dav: 0.3.2
- federatedfilesharing: 0.3.1
- federation: 0.1.0
- files: 1.5.1
- files_external: 0.7.1
- files_pdfviewer: 0.8.2
- files_sharing: 0.10.1
- files_texteditor: 2.2.1
- files_trashbin: 0.9.1
- files_versions: 1.3.0
- files_videoplayer: 0.9.8
- firstrunwizard: 1.1
- gallery: 16.0.2
- market: 0.2.3
- notifications: 0.3.2
- provisioning_api: 0.5.0
- systemtags: 0.3.0
- templateeditor: 0.1
- updatenotification: 0.2.1
Disabled:
- encryption
- external
- theme-example
- user_external

Are you using external storage, if yes which one: separate local volume (no)

Are you using encryption:no

Client configuration

Browser: google chrome

Operating system: Mac OS

Logs

Web server error log

ownCloud log (data/owncloud.log)

Browser log


#2

Do you have the exact commands you were using by chance?


#3

I've just checked my bash history and I can't find the command which is odd. It would have been sudo -u www-data php occ files:transfer-ownership --path="path/within/master/share" mastershareuser userwhomessedup

I remember the output summarising how many files had been moved and it said 2 shares had been restored which I found odd. I checked the user's profile and there were no shares on the transferred folder.