Php-problems / simple upgrade or installation possible?

Hi guys,

I’m VERY new to owncloud and also have limited programming skills, so please bear with me here… :stuck_out_tongue:

I have used owncloud in professional contexts and think its great! I now wanted to use it as a private cloud and organizing tool. For this reason I had to upgrade MANUALLY from OwnCloud 7 (which my web-host provides for free) to OwnCloud 10 and now get the following error:

“This version of ownCloud requires at least PHP 5.6.0. You are currently running PHP 5.4.45-kon. Please update your PHP version.”

I have no idea how to change this and also think - since my capabilities here are limited - that there must be an easier way of installing OwnCloud, no? I’ve checked the options at https://doc.owncloud.org/server/10.0/admin_manual/maintenance/upgrade.html but this is still - at least for me - very advanced stuff. Is there no Installer or Updater that one can use?

Yorrs for the newbie questions - I hope you can help!

Unless it’s your own host I think you’re out of luck. I don’t think a web hoster would allow you to change or update the php version they’ve set (I might be wrong)

If it’s a fresh install on your own server, I’d recommend to use a recent version of your favorite linux distribution. I expect it to come with a recent php version suitable to run ownCloud. Otherwise, check how you can upgrade your php version.

Other options are to use a VM or run a docker container. These alternatives are easier as long as you know the tools. I can’t recommend them if you aren’t familiar with them.

1 Like

Hi Jvillafanez and thanks so much for the constructive feedback! I am not hosting so my initial hunch that I’m outta luck is hereby confirmed. Thanks also for the alternatives, will check it out!