Any renamed folders (shared) are not showing renamed on the user side. When I rename a folder it continues to sync contents but the folder name does not change for anyone I shared with.
Can't you just unshare and share again?
Is the quickest solution
I think this is the expected behavior. If the folder would be renamed how should the receiver know the new name?
Interesting, did not realize that before
Unshare and share is a workaround, but not a perfect one as some metadata will be lost I think.
Otherwise yes, this is by design. https://forum.owncloud.org/viewtopic.php?t=20533
Is there no other solution rather than config the shares again?
That's not suitable for my users...
If you like to talk about the same folder with your users, just use the private link. Not sure for what you are looking for a solution. Your user has renamed a share - perfect it has a new name for him. He should be happy.
Thinking about it again, maybe a forced rename by the owner would be an interesting feature.