Update from OC 8.2 to OC 10.0.10 - Mismatch betweeen PHP and OC

Hi All!
I am running Owncloud in the version 8.2.0.12 on a managed server. Since everything was working fine under php 5.6 I unfortunately didn´t pay attention to the updates in recent times. A few weeks ago the server got an php update and actually I can choose between the php versions 7.1 and 7.2. Those php versions doesnt work with Owncloud as it is currently installed. I tried to upgrade first to Owncloud 9.1.8. This wont work as php 7 is not supported. Therefore I tried a direct update to Owncloud 10 (which supports php 7) but I got the (expected) feddback that “Updates between multiple major versions and downgrades are unsupported”. I am not an expert with these issues and I would appreciate it very much if anybody more initimate with those problems could give me an easy to reproduce hint that might help me to adress and solve the problem.
Thx for your help, after two hours looking through the forums I am kind of desperated as there seems to be an - at least for me unresolvable - mismatch between php and OC versions.
Best regards
Prados

Steps to reproduce

Expected behaviour

Tell us what should happen

Actual behaviour

Tell us what happens instead

Server configuration

Operating system:

Web server:

Database:

PHP version:

ownCloud version: (see ownCloud admin page)

Updated from an older ownCloud or fresh install:

Where did you install ownCloud from:

Signing status (ownCloud 9.0 and above):

Login as admin user into your ownCloud and access 
http://example.com/index.php/settings/integrity/failed 
paste the results into https://gist.github.com/ and puth the link here.

The content of config/config.php:

'admin' -> 'Generate Config Report' -> 'Download ownCloud config report'
This report includes the config.php settings, the list of activated apps
and other details in a well sanitized form.

or 

If you have access to your command line run e.g.:
sudo -u www-data php occ config:list system