Verification Plan for Upgrading Cloud-based Server is Correct + Best Suggested Method

Hey Guys -

I love ownCloud! Thanks so much for the continued development! I've been using ownCloud which I host via ownCube for a few years now. I believe I initially installed it using Softalicious and for some reason, my server installation stopped updating as it's currently on version 8.1.1. Also, from some reason it doesn't appear in Softalicious anymore so can't use that to upgrade it. I wrote ownCube support, but they said that I'm responsible for my own upgrades. I'm wanting to upgrade it to the latest and greatest, but my wife and I have a lot of important data on there. Since it's hosted in the cloud and not locally, I wanted to make sure I'm doing it correctly before pulling the trigger...

Here's some info about the environment...
I have full cPanel access as well as being able to connect using WinSCP. It's using a mySQL database also located on the host and I have phpMyAdmin available. The folder structure of the installation is as follows. Basically, all of my files are in a folder named "\ownclouddata" that exists in the root. ownCloud server files are located in "\public_html\owncloud"
- root
--- ownclouddata
------ user1
------ user2
------ user3
--- public_html
------ owncloud
--------- 3rdparty
--------- apps
--------- config
--------- core
--------- data
--------- l10n
--------- lib
--------- ocs
--------- ocs-provider
--------- settings
--------- themes

After reading through documentation, it seems that given my environment; the only way to upgrade would be to perform the below steps. It also seems I need to repeat these steps 4 times to go from the existing 8.1.1 -> 8.2.11, from 8.2.11 -> 9.0.9, from 9.0.9 -> 9.1.5, then finally from 9.1.5 -> 10.0.1.

1. Upload 8.2.11 tar into temp folder and extract to another temporary folder
  2. Disable all 3rd party apps then put ownCloud into maintenance mode by editing config.php within owncloud\config