Everything else is going fine. I also noticed though, that I deleted a directory on the client, and it would not sync, also threw an error, but I ignored it, and just removed it from syncing in the interface.
I do have encryption on the server enabled, for whatever that's worth. I also have been using this instance since 7.x I think, before the merger, and beyond, haha. It's worked great up to this point.
nice that you have found a possibility to work around this message. If i’m understanding both topics correctly there are two things which should be configured so that those messages are not showing up again in the future:
i have seen the following FAQ of the ownCloud people where they are clearly stating that ownCloud shouldn’t be used as a backup solution:
No. ownCloud is absolutely not a backup solution.
Changes you make in one place are synchronized to other places which means that if you accidentally remove or overwrite a file on your local system, ownCloud will remove it from the server.
If a file gets corrupted at one place the corrupted file gets distributed to other places.
The ‘previous files’ and ‘undelete’ functionality of ownCloud is merely meant as a convenience and should never be relied upon as a backup function. Algorithms are in place that clean up ‘old files’ and thus, changes will get lost over time.
External Storage connects ownCloud to an external storage like FTP, SMB another ownCloud Server or third-party providers like Google Drive, Amazon S3 or Dropbox. Files will show up in your web interface and can be synced with the client. However, they are not replicated on your ownCloud server!
For the other problems maybe it makes sense that you create a new topic explaining your environment, ownCloud client and server versions and similar so that some one can sort out a possible solution?