Cannot see sharing list of all users with access


#1

As of ownCloud 9.0 users should be able to see everyone with directory access (see https://github.com/owncloud/core/issues/9058 for details). Unfortunately, users only seem to be able to see down the sharing chain, so only those users they have shared with themselves. The linked ticket says

  1. Every user that is a share recipient of a file or folder can see a list of who else has access to the file or folder (which will need to be a setting that can be disabled in the config file for some security related reasons)

I don't know if this is a bug or a feature, my guess is on bug.

Steps to reproduce

  1. Create three users (e.g. admin, test and demo)
  2. As admin: Create a folder (share-me) w, share it with user test
  3. As test: Share the folder (share-me) with user demo
  4. As demo: Take a look at the sharing tab / User and Groups tab of the folder (share-me)

Expected behaviour

User demo should see three users with access (admin, test and demo)

Actual behaviour

User demo can only see himself in the list, but not the other users (admin and test)

Server configuration

10.0.3 (stable)

Don't know the details, it's the official demo setup I used: https://demo.owncloud.org/

Login as admin user into your ownCloud and access 
http://example.com/index.php/settings/integrity/failed 
paste the results into https://gist.github.com/ and puth the link here.

"No errors have been found."

Client configuration

Browser: Google Chrome 63.0.3239.108 x64

Operating system: Windows 7 Professional x64


#2

This helps also me.
thanks


#3

Hi,
I see this discussion so I’ll join as I’m also missing this feature.

In my opinion when I’m file / folder owner and I enabled re-sharing I want to see all who’ve been re-shared to with rights given to each person/file/folder.
All people should see all “members” having access to file without visibility of given permissions. It’s just not to share to the same people twice the same files/folders and make communication much easier.

If we want to take care about privacy maybe we should consider to add an option when sharing “publicly visible”. When checked (by default) person, who you share file/folder to, will be visible as person having access to file/folder to all having access to that file / folder.
If unchecked, nobody excepting owner can see this person as shared with (hidden / private sharing - available only to file/folder owner).
This option “publicly visible” should be available only for file/folder owner. Re-sharing should always be publicly visible.

Thanks for this discussion anyway :slight_smile:


#4

yes, the publicly visible is a big solution also for me, and you have exposed perfectly!
I hope that solution will be implemented.