Setting up help required

I’m hoping someone can help.
If this is in the wrong category, I apologise.
I am setting up my Raspberry Pi 3 B+ as a cloud server with an external 2tb ssd but I’m having problems configuring and connecting the ssd through the OwnCloud external storage interface so I would appreciate it if someone could explain in plain English, please, how to configure OwnCloud to connect to ssd external storage.
Should I have ‘Local’ as external storage? If so it doesn’t appear in the ‘Add storage’ dropdown list. What should go in the ‘Authentication ‘ and ‘Configuration’ boxes?
Sorry to be so naive but as a novice, I find the OwnCloud user guide somewhat difficult to follow.
I’m new to Raspberry Pi, Dietpi and OwnCloud.
The ssd is formatted and ready for use according to the Diepi storage interface.

You’re right, the Server-> Help category would fit.

For the storage: You have to add a line

'files_external_allow_create_new_local' => true,

to your config.php. After that, you’ll have a ‘Local’ option in the selection. Keep in mind that for the access rights the same rules apply, it must be writable by the user that is running the web-server.

2 Likes

Thank you Alfredb for your response.

It took me a while to locate config.php but yes it’s working fine now except for one thing, ‘External storage has been disabled by the administrator’ still shows in Settings/storage, in other words the external drive is not displaying its content of 3 new folders on the OwnCloud home page. ‘Enable external storage’ in admin settings has been ticked.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thank you

MikeAlan

Hi @MikeAlan, as you have opened in the wrong category, I’ll not continue to respond here. Please ask again in a new thread in the Server category.

1 Like

I moved the thread to the server category.